HOT TOPIC: Ched Evans

by dreynolds91

I generally use this blog to post reviews of films I’ve recently watched but in this post I want to share my thoughts on a topic which is very much hot in the press right now.

So picture this: You’re a Sheffield United supporter, or you support another club, and you go to a game with your kid or younger brother who looks up to footballers as role models, like all children do. He may or may not have any idea what rape is, but it won’t be long before you’re at game and he hears the chants about Ched Evans and asks ‘What did Ched Evans do?’ or ‘Why’s Ched Evans a rapist?’

Somehow, you have to try and explain to your child/brother that what Ched Evans did is terrible is unacceptable on every level, as any parent would (I hope), but then there’s a problem which follows this, how do you explain that it is justified that he is allowed to return to his job like nothing has changed? In the child’s mind, will he not be thinking, ‘Well what he’s done can’t be that bad’ or ‘If I become really good at football it won’t matter what I do, I’ll still be considered a hero’ and continue to look up to him and chant his name? And then the cycle continues for generations…

It’s not just children though, football fans are notoriously fickle. Opinions of players who are hated are changed and forgotten when they start scoring goals and helping their club rise up the table. And Sheffield United fans have already been heard chanting ‘Super Ched Evans!’ Although I’m sure this is just a small group at present, it will only increase and then it will be like nothing ever happened.

What has extremely disappointed me is the support I have seen for Ched Evans, simply saying ‘He’s served his time, of course he can return.’ Well firstly he has actually only served half of his time so that point is even less valid, but let me ask you this; If you were a teacher and you were convicted of rape, would you ever be allowed to teach a class of children ever again? NO. NEVER. If you were leading a team in a company with a number of employees inspiring to reach your level, and served time for rape, would you be reinstated in your role? NO. Will Stuart Hall or Rolf Harris (providing they survive their sentences) ever present on TV again? NO. People have mentioned Mike Tyson but I believe that he shouldn’t have returned.

ANY role in which you are looked up to by others you certainly would not return. Why should it be different for someone who is watched by thousands every week and looked up to by children and aspiring footballers? Don’t even give me the argument of ‘If he was a bin-man or factory worker no one would bat an eyelid.’ These are roles where you’re not considered a role model to a vast amount children and young footballers.

I don’t believe that his footballing career should be completely gone, but he should not be able to return straight after serving half his sentence. He should certainly not ever reach a position where he is of influence.

There is a huge problem in this country with rape culture and this Ched Evans case will only make it worse, if he is allowed back at Bramall Lane. If you look at the comments on Twitter and Facebook posts from the likes of Sky Sports News and BBC Sport, it’s quite worrying. In response to Jessica Ennis’s recent decision to revoke her name from one of the stands at Bramall Lane if Sheffield re-sign him, one guy simply replied ‘What a slut’ which has given him over 50 favourites, and then posted whole host of other misogynistic comments. On top of that, another person has said ‘give the bloke a break – he’s served his time.’

Give the bloke a break? Sorry, give him a break? A convicted rapist who has shown no remorse for his crime and scarred a girl for life and you want people to give him a break? Do people not understand these kinds of comments normalise rape? His return will only normalise it more! It is no wonder that approximately 70% of rapes (probably more) are not reported because they don’t believe the perpetrator will be brought to justice, and when they are, their punishment is not near enough.

It was only a year or two ago I would make jokes about rape with my friends and most likely used the excuse ‘I’m only joking, don’t worry.’ I’m ashamed of myself for this and apologise to those who I may have affected and made to feel uncomfortable. It’s not funny and, how can anyone be sure I’m only joking? I always kept the jokes within a small group and never posted on Twitter (which I’m not condoning), but those tweets above, maybe they’re joking? We don’t know. However, to a rapist, it’s only legitimising their beliefs and actions. Whilst the thought of it has NEVER crossed my mind and never will, other people don’t know that, and may think the opposite. It’s this kind of behaviour which I am seeing more of and it needs to be stopped. I’m not surprised that most women are afraid of being raped. It makes me sick thinking that I could have induced fear into others by these ‘harmless’ jokes.

I think I’ve made myself clear about my view. Allowing Ched Evans to return to his position at Sheffield United will normalise rape and only exacerbate an issue which is already out of hand. A crime like rape is something which should not be forgotten about once you’ve served your time, it should follow you around like a bad odour for the rest of your life, maybe then it will be taken seriously. I’ve changed a lot of the past 6 months or so in terms of my views on feminism (I used to dislike the word due to its association, but it’s so important) and consider myself a feminist. We, and especially men, need to wake up and realise there’s a huge problem with rape culture and it has to be tackled. Doing all we can to not allow Ched Evans to return is one step in the right direction.